On This Page
CodeDeploy is a fully managed deployment service that automates software deployments to a variety of compute services such as EC2, Fargate, Lambda, & on-premises servers
CodeDeploy can also deploy a serverless Lambda function.
CodeDeploy can be connected to CodePipeline and use artifacts from there.
Need to choose the compute platform:
- AWS Lambda.
- Amazon ECS.
The application specification file (AppSpec file) is a YAML-formatted, or JSON-formatted file used by CodeDeploy to manage a deployment.
The AppSpec file defines the deployment actions you want AWS CodeDeploy to execute.
In-place deployment (EC2 only)
AWS Lambda: Traffic is shifted from one version of a Lambda function to a new version of the same Lambda function.
Amazon ECS: Traffic is shifted from a task set in your Amazon ECS service to an updated, replacement task set in the same Amazon ECS service.
EC2/On-Premises: Traffic is shifted from one set of instances in the original environment to a replacement set of instances.
Type: Developer Tools
What will happen if you delete an unused custom deployment configuration in AWS CodeDeploy?
- You will no longer be able to associate the deleted deployment configuration with new deployments and new deployment groups.
- Nothing will happen, as the custom deployment configuration was unused.
- All deployment groups associated with the custom deployment configuration will also be deleted.
- All deployments associated with the custom deployment configuration will be terminated.
Can delete only if unused.
What happens when you delete a deployment group with the AWS CLI in AWS CodeDeploy?
- All details associated with that deployment group will be moved from AWS CodeDeploy to AWS OpsWorks.
- The instances used in the deployment group will change.
- All details associated with that deployment group will also be deleted from AWS CodeDeploy.
- The instances that were participating in the deployment group will run once again.
If you delete a deployment group, all details associated with that deployment group will also be deleted from CodeDeploy. The instances used in the deployment group will remain unchanged. This action cannot be undone.